Loss can be a complicated experience for an individual, especially if they have never been through it before. It can feel like an incredibly confusing time for some, especially after the services are completed at one of the funeral homes in Phoenix, AZ. Whether you or someone you know has recently lost a loved one, you might be wondering more about the grief process, so here are just a few.

Types of Grief


This experience happens when individuals don’t go through grief as long as they expected. It’s common when the one who has suffered a loss doesn’t have as strong an attachment to the loved one who passed away.


For normal grief, there are generally five stages in the process that an individual will need to learn to navigate. Because grief is not a linear process, there may be moments of confusion on how long the experience will last. Still, because everyone is different, it can be helpful to understand that patience is a necessary addition to the experience.


This form of grief occurs when an individual has a significant responsibility after the loved one passes away and doesn’t have time to grieve. This situation can occur if the individual is a parent and has lost their spouse, and they need to run the household with the children and be the strong person in the environment.


This grief occurs when an individual shows no grief after the loss. In some cases, it can be similar to delayed grief, where the individual tries to be vital for other people. Keep in mind there’s always the possibility that the individual may be grieving in a more private way that isn’t as obvious to others.


Anticipatory grief occurs when an individual knows that an individual is going to pass away. This form can be experienced by everyone involved, including the loved one, mainly if they are in a situation where they are suffering.


This form of grief takes place between a large group of people. It could be the death of a critical figure such as a political leader or celebrity or stemming from a natural disaster.

How Many Types Of Grief Are There 210x300Inhibited

Inhibited grief happens when the individual who has suffered the loss doesn’t react to the loved one passing away. This can happen because they either feel it’s inappropriate or they don’t show a lot of emotion in general. Instead of emotional symptoms, the individual may experience more physical symptoms.

Putting Our Community at the Heart of the Matter

After experiencing a loss, it can be difficult to understand the process, and it may take a longer period to get through the emotional states. Being mindful to practice compassion and patience with the experience is crucial, and Thompson Funeral Chapel is here to help.

We are a locally owned company that has been in business since 19 57 and take great pride in offering the highest customer service on the market. If you have recently lost a loved one and are looking at funeral homes in Phoenix, AZ, give us a call today, and we will help you get started.

Related Posts

Contact Information
Thompson Funeral Chapel